Governing Structure

Elephants Alive is a registered non-profit organisation with the South African Revenue Service, as a charity and public benefit organisation. We are sustained by public support and enthusiasm and are dedicated to the ongoing growth of man’s understanding of elephant ecology.

Management Committee

  • Marlene McCay(chair)
  • Dr. Michelle Henley (member)
  • Dr. Iain Douglas-Hamilton (member)
  • Barry Paul (member)
  • Sarah Smuts (treasurer)

Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Prof. Francesca Parrini (University of the Witwatersrand)
  • Prof. George Wittemyer (Colorado State University)
  • Dr. Iain Douglas-Hamilton (Save the Elephants)
  • Prof. Leslie Brown (University of South Africa)
  • Dr. Sam Ferreira (SANParks)

Research Associates

  • Dr. Henrik Rasmussen
  • Dr. Jake Wall
  • Dr. Kate Evans
  • Dr. Kari Morfeld
  • Dr. Lucy Bates
  • Dr. Lucy King